FACT SHEET Task Team:

Pacific Island Countries and Territories Working Group Task Team on Information Sharing Platforms.

Co-Chairs: Anthony Jamelot (French Polynesia) and Jonathan Tafiariki (Solomon Islands)

The task team has been endorsed during the WG-PICT meeting on 27th February 2025.

The main objective of this task-team is to provide guidelines and recommendations for a direct informal exchange of tsunami information between NTWC and NDMO from PICT members in order to test it again for the next PacWave exercise.

The Task team will also prepare, conduct and support regional exercise.

The Task team deadline could be after PacWave 2026.

Terms of Reference:

- 1. Propose and conduct the next WG-PICT regional PacWave exercise;
- 2. Support members exercise at their convenience;
- 3. Evaluate and test early /anticipatory information to be shared between NTWC and NDMO and recommend which platform would be more adapted for each kind of information.
- 4. Support regional communication test and information sharing platforms
 - a. Mobile /Desktop application Guidelines (WhatsApp, SLACK);
 - b. HF- Radio Guidelines:
 - c. Email Listery Guidelines:
- 5. Identify and list new relevant platform for Information Sharing
- 6. Identify technology and tools for emergency broadcasting and communication redundancy.

Composition:

The Group to be comprised of representatives from Pacific Island Countries and Territories (PICTs) and ITIC as members, Council of Regional Organizations in the Pacific (CROP) Agencies and WMO Regional Association V (RAV) as observers with Chair and Vice Chair to be elected by the members of the Working Group and endorsed by the ICG/PTWS.

Membership: See Contact details ... Membership is open to WG-PICT members.

The following applies for all working groups and Task Team:

Languages: English, Spanish and French

Meetings: Meet intersessionally.

Coordinator and Elections: Follow the rules of procedures applying to IOC Subsidiary Bodies. Chair and at least one vice chair who will be elected either by the ICG/PTWS or the members of the working group for two years with possible re-election of one term in the same position. Members and appointment: Nominated by member states in accordance with the rules of procedures applying to IOC Subsidiary bodies. Technical experts can be invited at the discretion of the Chair.

Calendar of Intersessional work should be determined by the working group at the working group meeting and included in the report.

Duration of the WG: Two years.

Reports: A final report has to be submitted two months before the parent body meeting and for each working group meeting within the two following months.

Financial resources: At national expense.

Amendments: As warranted by the working groups.

Contact Details Pacific Island Countries and Territories Working Group Task Team on Information Sharing Platforms. last update: 26 February 2025

Name and Contact Details	Institution, Country	Email
Mr Anthony JAMELOT (France – French Polynesia) Geophysicist Tsunami scientist BP 640 98713 Papeete CEDEX Tel: +689 87 78 36 46 Timezone = UTC-10H	CEA Laboratoire de Géophysique de Tahiti (LDG) Centre Polynésien de Prévention des Tsunamis (CPPT)	jamelot@labogeo.pf
	NTWC	
Mr Jonathan TAFIARIKI (Solomon Islands) Director National Disaster Management Office Tel: +677 27837 / +677 27063	National Disaster Management Office NDMO	JTafiariki@ndmo.gov.sb
Timezone = UTC-+11h		
Mr Aisea Vaituilua Fungavai (Tonga) Acting 2IC For tonga NDRMO	Tonga NDRMO,	fungavaiaisea@gmail.com
Tel: +676 7755918	NDMO	
Timezone = UTC+13h		
Dr. Laure Kang (ITIC)	International Tsunami	laura kana @nasa nay
Dr Laura Kong (ITIC) Director, International Tsunami Information	Information Center	laura.kong@noaa.gov
Center A UNESCO/IOC-NOAA Partnership NOAA IRC / NWS / ITIC, 1845 Wasp Blvd, Bldg 176, Honolulu, HI 96818 USA Tel: 1-808-725-6051, Cell: 1-808-392- 4415, Fax: 1-808-725-6055	CROP	
Timezone = UTC-10h		
Mr Saula Mule (Fiji)	Mineral Ressources	saula.mule@mrd.gov.fj
Timezone = UTC+12h	NTWC	
Mr Perre Emmanuel Brunier (France – New Caledonia)	Direction de la sécurité civile et de la gestion des crises	pierre-emmanuel.brunier@gouv.nc
BP M2 – 98849 Nouméa CEDEX	NDMO	
Timezone = UTC+11h		

Dr. Bill FRY (New Zealand) Seismologist PTWS-WG2, Chair R-CET, Programme Leader RNC2 Earthquake and Tsunami, Programme Co-Leader AGU Natural Hazards, Secretary GNS Science, Te Pū Ao Timezone= UTC+12h	GNS Science, Te Pu Ao NTWC	b.fry@gns.cri.nz
Mr Robert Greenwood (Australia) Timezone= UTC+10h	Bureau of Meteorology (BOM)	robert.greenwood@bom.gov.au
Ms Elizabeth Abbott (New Zealand) Timezone= UTC+12h	GNS Science, Te Pu Ao NTWC	e.abbott@gns.cri.nz
Mr John Jr. Niroa Timezone= UTC+11h	Vanuatu Meteorology and Geo-hazards department NTWC	jjnirioa@vanuatu.gov.vu
Mr Fidel Zebeta Timezone= UTC+11h	Vanuatu Disaster Management Office NDMO	fzebeta@vanuatu.gov.vu
Mr Levu Boaz Timezone= UTC+11h	MetOffice. NTWC	lantfalo@meteo.gov.vu
Ms Litea Biukoto Timezone = UTC+12h	South Pacific Commission CROP	liteab@spc.int

Inter sessional Recommendations 2023 - 2025 to WG-PICT:

- CONTINUE to conduct and support the next regional PICT PacWave exercise.
- **RECOMMEND** in person table top exercise between WG-PICT members at their convenience with the support of TT ISP.
- AGREE and SUPPORT a monthly regional HF radio test communication between PICT with the collaboration of the WFP/ECT
- **RECOMMEND** members to maintain VHF/HF radio communication redundancy to support national emergency
- **ENCOURAGE** communication technology such as satellite link to support national emergency and recommend PICT members to acquire such equipment.
- **ENHANCED** information sharing guidelines through all tested communication lines;
- ENHANCED and PROMOTE the regional information sharing platform (currently SLACK)
- ASK the TSP PTWC to add an event identifier in the email subject of PTWC bulletins in case of multiple tsunami event in a short time.
- **ENDORSE** a new term for the task team information sharing platform and the updated term of references.
- **ENDORSE** the election of the co chairs Jonathan Tafiariki (Solomon Islands) and Anthony Jamelot (French Polynesia).