

INTERGOVERNMENTAL OCEANOGRAPHIC COMMISSION COMMISSION OCÉANOGRAPHIQUE INTERGOUVERNEMENTALE COMISIÓN OCEANOGRÁFICA INTERGUBERNAMENTAL MEЖПРАВИТЕЛЬСТВЕННАЯ ОКЕАНОГРАФИЧЕСКАЯ КОМИССИЯ

اللجنة الدولية الحكومية لعلوم المحيطات

政府间海洋学委员会

UNESCO – 7 Place de Fontenoy - 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP, France http://ioc.unesco.org - contact phone: +33 (0)1 45 68 03 18 E-mail: ioc.secretariat@unesco.org

IOC Circular Letter No 3010 (Available in English and French)

IOC/VH/YM/XY/Pbo 30 October 2024

To : IOC National Coordinating Bodies for Liaison (IOC Member States)

National Commissions for UNESCO, and

Permanent Delegations to UNESCO of IOC Member States

Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons of IOC and IOC subsidiary bodies

ICG/IOTWMS Tsunami National Contacts

Secretariat of the World Meteorological Organization

Subject: Withdrawal of Vice-Chair (electoral Group IV) of the Commission and

nomination of the Technical Secretary of the Intergovernmental Coordination Group for the Indian Ocean Tsunami Warning and

Mitigation System (ICG/IOTWMS)

With this letter, we would like to inform you that Mr Srinivas Kumar Tummala has announced his withdrawal as Vice-Chair of Electoral Group IV following his recent appointment as Technical Secretary of the ICG/IOTWMS and his nomination as a staff member of UNESCO-IOC as of 31 October 2024. As part of his elective term as IOC Officer, Mr Tummala has been also serving as Chair of the Working Group on Tsunamis and Other Hazards related to Sea-Level Warning and Mitigation Systems, Chair of the Ocean Decade Tsunami Programme Science Committee and Co-Chair of the Joint WMO-IOC Collaborative Board.

As Chairperson of the Commission, I will ensure that these responsibilities are reassigned among Officers as soon as possible, given the tight schedule.

In accordance with IOC Rules of Procedure, Mr Tummala will not be replaced as Vice-Chair of the Commission until the next elections, which will be held during the 33rd session of our Assembly at UNESCO headquarters from 25 June to 3 July 2025.

Mr Kumar Tummala (India) will take up his duties as Technical Secretary of the ICG/IOTWMS on 31 October 2024 at the Bureau of Meteorology in Perth, Australia. Mr Kumar Tummala is well known to the tsunami community and the IOC through his active participation in the ICG/IOTWMS and IOC governance. He served in this capacity from October 2016 to August 2020.

Mr Kumar Tummala will provide rigorous and effective support to the development of the Indian Ocean Tsunami Warning System and will ably accompany the continued commitment of the Member States in the region.

Chairperson

Yutaka MICHIDA, Prof.
Special Presidential Envoy
for UN Ocean Decade
The University of Tokyo (Atmosphere
and Ocean Research Institute)
Kashiwanoha 5-1-5
2778564 Kashiwa
JAPAN

Executive Secretary

Mr Vidar HELGESEN Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission — UNESCO 7 Place de Fontenoy 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP FRANCE

Vice-Chairpersons

Dr Marie-Alexandrine SICRE
Directrice de Recherche
Centre national de la recherche scientifique
(CNRS)
3 rue Michel Ange
75016 Paris
FRANCE

Dr Nikolay VALCHEV Director Institute of Oceanology Bulgarian Academy of Sciences 40 Parvi May Str. 9000 Varna BULGARIA Mr Juan Camilo FORERO HAUZEUR Executive Secretary Colombian Ocean Commission (COO) Avenida Ciudad de Cali No. 51 – 66 Edificio WBC, Oficina 306 111071 Bogotá, D.C. COLOMBIA

Dr Srinivasa Kumar TUMMALA Director Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS) Pragathi Nagar (BO), Nizampet (SO) Hyderabad 500090 Prof. Amr Zakaria HAMOUDA President of Marine Hazards Mitigation Center (MHMC) National Institute of Oceanography and Fisheries (NIOF) Qaitbay, Al-Anfoshi Alexandria EGYPT While we regret that Mr Tummala will not be able to complete his term of office and will not be accompanying us throughout the period of preparation for the next IOC Assembly, we thank Mr Tummala for his service as Vice-Chair of the Commission since June 2021.

In my capacity as Chairperson, I remain at the disposal of all IOC Member States, in particular the members of Electoral Group IV, to listen to and relay the issues they wish to see raised at the Officers' Meeting to be held in Paris from 13 to 15 January 2025.

With the assurances of our highest consideration, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

[signature]

[signature]

Professor Yutaka Michida Chairperson Vidar Helgesen Executive Secretary