

INTERGOVERNMENTAL OCEANOGRAPHIC COMMISSION COMMISSION OCÉANOGRAPHIQUE INTERGOUVERNEMENTALE COMISIÓN OCEANOGRÁFICA INTERGUBERNAMENTAL МЕЖПРАВИТЕЛЬСТВЕННАЯ ОКЕАНОГРАФИЧЕСКАЯ КОМИССИЯ

اللجنة الدولية الحكومية لعلوم المحيطات

政府间海洋学委员会

UNESCO – 7 Place de Fontenoy - 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP, France http://ioc.unesco.org - contact phone: +33 (0)1 45 68 03 18 E-mail: v.ryabinin@unesco.org

IOC Circular Letter No 2977 (Available in English and French)

IOC/VR/IFAG/XY 8 December 2023

To : IOC National Official Coordinating Bodies for Liaison with IOC

C.c. : Permanent Delegates / Observer Missions to UNESCO of IOC Member States

National Commissions for UNESCO of IOC Member States Chair and Vice-Chairs of IOC and Major Subsidiary Bodies

Subject: Re-constitution of the Open-ended Intersessional Financial

Advisory Group for the period January-June 2024

In pursuance to Resolution A-32/4 adopted by the IOC Assembly at its 32nd session (21–30 June 2023), the open-ended Intersessional Financial Advisory Group (IFAG) is being re-constituted under the chairmanship of Vice-Chair Juan Camilo FORERO HAUZEUR. Technical secretariat support will be provided by Xenia Yvinec.

I invite IOC national coordinating bodies to designate members to work within the IFAG in accordance with its mandate as defined in the Terms of Reference (Resolution XXVIII-3). As in the past, the group will work mainly by correspondence. It is therefore imperative that we have up-to-date nominative email addresses for all designated members. I would appreciate receiving your letters of nomination by 20 January 2024.

While all relevant documentation will be posted online as the work of the group progresses at <a href="https://oceanexpert.org/event/2996">https://oceanexpert.org/event/2996</a>, I would like to call your attention to the important mandate of this group which is expected to facilitate Member States' intersessional consultations on the matters of Governance, Programming and Budgeting, including the review of the IOC Programme and Budget 2024–2025 (42 C/5) and the Executive Secretary's Preliminary Proposals for 2026–2027 (Draft 43 C/5).

The first communication from IFAG Chair will follow the initial discussion of these matters by the IOC Officers at their annual meeting on 22–24 January 2024.

Yours sincerely, [signed]

Vladimir Ryabinin Executive Secretary

## Chairperson

Dr Yutaka MICHIDA Professor Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institute, The University of Tokyo Kashiwanoha 5-1-5 2778564 Kashiwa JAPAN

## **Executive Secretary**

Dr Vladimir RYABININ Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission — UNESCO 7 Place de Fontenoy 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP FRANCE

## Vice-Chairpersons

Dr Marie-Alexandrine SICRE
Directrice de Recherche
Centre national de la recherche scientifique
(CNRS)
3 rue Michel Ange
75016 Paris
FRANCE

Dr Nikolay VALCHEV Director Institute of Oceanology Bulgarian Academy of Sciences 40 Parvi May Str. 9000 Varna BULGARIA Mr Juan Camilo FORERO HAUZEUR Executive Secretary Colombian Ocean Commission (COO) Avenida Ciudad de Cali No. 51 – 66 Edificio WBC, Oficina 306 111071 Bogotá, D.C. COLOMBIA

Dr Srinivasa Kumar TUMMALA Director Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS) Pragathi Nagar (BO), Nizampet (SO) Hyderabad 500090 Prof. Amr Zakaria HAMOUDA President National Institute of Oceanography and Fisheries (NIOF) Qaitbay, Al-Anfoshi Alexandria